Cleat Geeks

Final College Football Top 25 And More

CFP top 25 teams

On December 3, 2017, the College Football Playoff selection committee announced their final team rankings for the year.

In the fourth year of the College Football Playoff era, this was the first time that two of the four semifinalists (Georgia and Alabama) were from the same conference.

Rank Team W–L Conference and standing Bowl game
1 Clemson Tigers 12–1 ACC champions Sugar Bowl
2 Oklahoma Sooners 12–1 Big 12 champions Rose Bowl
3 Georgia Bulldogs 12–1 SEC champions Rose Bowl
4 Alabama Crimson Tide 11–1 SEC West Division second place Sugar Bowl
5 Ohio State Buckeyes 11–2 Big Ten champions Cotton Bowl
6 Wisconsin Badgers 12–1 Big Ten West Division champions Orange Bowl
7 Auburn Tigers 10–3 SEC West Division Champions Peach Bowl
8 USC Trojans 11–2 Pac-12 champions Cotton Bowl
9 Penn State Nittany Lions 10–2 Big Ten East Division second place (tie) Fiesta Bowl
10 Miami Hurricanes 10–2 ACC Coastal Division champions Orange Bowl
11 Washington Huskies 10–2 PAC-12 North Division co-champions Fiesta Bowl
12 UCF Knights 12–0 AAC champions Peach Bowl
13 Stanford Cardinal 9–4 PAC-12 North Division co-champions Alamo Bowl
14 Notre Dame Fighting Irish 9–3 Independent Citrus Bowl
15 TCU Horned Frogs 10–3 Big 12 second place Alamo Bowl
16 Michigan State Spartans 9–3 Big 10 East Division second place (tie) Holiday Bowl
17 LSU Tigers 9–3 SEC West Division third place Citrus Bowl
18 Washington State Cougars 9–3 Pac-12 North Division third place Holiday Bowl
19 Oklahoma State Cowboys 9–3 Big 12 third place Camping World Bowl
20 Memphis Tigers 10–2 AAC West Division champions Liberty Bowl
21 Northwestern Wildcats 9–3 Big Ten West Division second place Music City Bowl
22 Virginia Tech Hokies 9–3 ACC Coastal Division second place Camping World Bowl
23 Mississippi State Bulldogs 8–4 SEC West Division fourth place (tie) TaxSlayer Bowl
24 NC State Wolfpack 8–4 ACC Atlantic Division second place Sun Bowl
25 Boise State Broncos 10–3 MWC Champions Las Vegas Bowl

Bowl-eligible teams

  • American (7): Houston, Memphis, Navy, SMU, South Florida, Temple, UCF
  • ACC (10): Boston College, Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Louisville, Miami, NC State, Virginia, Virginia Tech, Wake Forest
  • Big Ten (8): Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue, Wisconsin
  • Big 12 (8): Iowa State, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas, Texas Tech, West Virginia
  • C-USA (10): FIU, Florida Atlantic, Louisiana Tech, Marshall, Middle Tennessee, North Texas, Southern Miss, UAB, UTSA, Western Kentucky
  • Independent (2): Army, Notre Dame
  • MAC (7): Akron, Buffalo, Central Michigan, Northern Illinois, Ohio, Toledo, Western Michigan
  • Mountain West (6): Boise State, Colorado State, Fresno State, San Diego State, Utah State, Wyoming
  • Pac-12 (9): Arizona, Arizona State, Oregon, Stanford, UCLA, USC, Utah, Washington, Washington State
  • SEC (9): Alabama, Auburn, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi State, Missouri, South Carolina, Texas A&M
  • Sun Belt (5): Appalachian State, Arkansas State, Georgia State, New Mexico State, Troy

Number of teams going to bowl games: 78

Number of bowl-eligible teams: 81

Bowl-eligible teams that did not receive a berth

As there are more bowl-eligible teams than bowl berths, three bowl-eligible teams will not receive a bowl berth:

  • Buffalo (6–6)
  • UTSA (6–5)
  • Western Michigan (6–6)

Bowl-ineligible teams

  • American (5): Cincinnati, Connecticut, East Carolina, Tulane, Tulsa
  • ACC (4): Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Pittsburgh, Syracuse
  • Big Ten (6): Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Nebraska, Rutgers
  • Big 12 (2): Baylor, Kansas
  • C-USA (4): Charlotte, Old Dominion, Rice, UTEP
  • Independent (2): BYU, Massachusetts
  • MAC (5): Ball State, Bowling Green, Eastern Michigan, Kent State, Miami (OH)
  • Mountain West (6): Air Force, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, San Jose State, UNLV
  • Pac-12 (3): California, Colorado, Oregon State
  • SEC (5): Arkansas, Florida, Ole Miss, Tennessee, Vanderbilt
  • Sun Belt (7): Coastal Carolina, Georgia Southern, Idaho, Louisiana–Lafayette, Louisiana–Monroe, South Alabama, Texas State
  1. Despite winning six games for a .500 (6–6) regular-season record, Ole Miss is bowl-ineligible due to a self-imposed bowl ban.
  2. Coastal Carolina is in the first year of its two-year transition from FCS to FBS and is bowl-ineligible due to NCAA regulations, but would have been ineligible based on record in any case.

Number of bowl-ineligible teams: 49

Leave a Reply


If you like this site or just simply want to school your friends because you got the information first.  

Join us on the field! Click on any of the links below.

%d bloggers like this: