Cleat Geeks

Wrigley Weekly Wrap-up

Will Jason Heyward make a trip to the All-Star Game this season for the first time since his rookie season in 2010? Will Anthony Rizzo and Kris Bryant be selected to the National League team again? What about Willson Contreras, Kyle Schwarber, and Javier Baez? Those six Cubs, plus Addison Russell and Ben Zobrist, were included on the Esurance MLB All-Star Game Ballot released Monday. They’re all vying to play in the July 11th MLB All-Star Game in Miami.

The Cubs made history last year by becoming the second team to have its entire infield start an All-Star Game, as Rizzo, Zobrist, Russell and Bryant were elected to the NL team. The only other team to accomplish that feat was the 1963 Cardinals. Dexter Fowler, Jake Arrieta and Jon Lester also represented the Cubs last year at the All-Star Game.

Heyward and Schwarber are candidates for the 2017 NL Comeback Player of the Year Award, as well. Entering Monday, Heyward was batting .279 this year after hitting .230 last season, his first with the Cubs. Schwarber was able to play in the 2016 World Series despite not getting a hit in the regular season after tearing two ligaments in his left knee in the third game. This is the first time Schwarber, Baez and Contreras have been included on the All-Star ballot. Fans may cast votes for starters at and all 30 club sites — on computers, tablets and smartphones — exclusively online using the 2017 Esurance MLB All-Star Game Ballot until Thursday, June 29, at 11:59 p.m. ET. On smartphones and tablets, fans can also access the ballot via the At Bat and Ballpark mobile apps. Vote up to five times in any 24-hour period for a maximum of 35 ballots cast.

Leave a Reply


If you like this site or just simply want to school your friends because you got the information first.  

Join us on the field! Click on any of the links below.

%d bloggers like this: