Cleat Geeks

2015 MMA Awards and 2016 Predictions


Charles “Mask” Lewis “Fighter of the Year”

2015 Winner: Conor McGregor

As expected, Conor McGregor took home fighter of the year honors. With wins over Dennis Siver, Chad Mendes and Jose Aldo, McGregor cemented himself as a superstar in the UFC. Other candidates for the award were Rafael dos Anjos, Max Holloway, Demetrious Johnson and Luke Rockhold.

Projected 2016 Winner: Rafael dos Anjos

If dos Anjos can beat Conor McGregor when they fight in March, he will be on the fast track to fighter of the year. Dos Anjos has proven to be one of the best fighters in the UFC with wins over Benson Henderson, Cowboy Cerrone, Nate Diaz and Anthony Pettis.


Female Fighter of the Year

2015 Winner: Holly Holm

Holly Holm shook the world when she knocked out Ronda Rousey with a thunderous high kick. She beat the unbeatable and changed the landscape of the UFC. Holm also took home wins over Raquel Pennington and Marion Reneau in 2015. Other candidates for the award were Tonya Evinger, Angela Lee, Ronda Rousey and Joanna Jedrzejczyk.

Projected 2016 Winner: Joanna Jedrzejczyk

Joanna Jedrzejczyk is in a league of her own in the strawweight division. If she beats Claudia Gadelha she will have little competition left in her division due to the inexperience of the contenders in her division like Rose Namajunas, Paige VanZant and Tecia Torres.

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

2015 Winner: Holly Holm

Holm burst onto the scene with three UFC wins in 215 including her spectacular knockout of Ronda Rousey. Other candidates for this award include Thomas Almeida, Henry Cejudo, Tony Ferguson and Joanna Jedrzejczyk.


Projected 2016 Winner: Thomas Almeida

Almeida has four fights in the UFC, in those fights he is 4-0 and has four performance bonuses. At only 24, Almeida is poised to make a run in 2016.

Other Awards

International Fighter of the Year: Conor McGregor

Fight of the Year: Robbie Lawler vs. Rory MacDonald 2 (UFC 189)

Knockout of the Year: Holly Holm (vs. Ronda Rousey, UFC 193)

Submission of the Year: Ronda Rousey (vs. Cat Zingano, UFC 184)

Comeback of the Year: Eddie Alvarez (vs. Gilbert Melendez, UFC 188)

Upset of the Year: Holly Holm (vs. Ronda Rousey, UFC 193)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year: Rafael Cordeiro

Trainer of the Year: Mike Dolce (nutritionist)

Gym of the Year: Jackson-Wink MMA

Referee of the Year: “Big” John McCarthy

Ring Girl of the Year: Arianny Celeste

Leading Man: Dana White

Best Promotion: UFC

Personality of the Year: Joe Rogan

Analyst of the Year: Dominick Cruz

Best MMA Programming: UFC Embedded

MMA Media Source of the Year: MMA Fighting

MMA Journalist of the Year: Ariel Helwani

Best MMA Clothes & Equiptment Brand: Bad Boy

Lifetime Achievement Award: Bruce Buffer (ring announcer)

Leave a Reply


If you like this site or just simply want to school your friends because you got the information first.  

Join us on the field! Click on any of the links below.

%d bloggers like this: