Cleat Geeks

Arrieta in The Cy Young Race

963179_1280x720The Chicago Cubs haven’t had a Cy Young award winner since Greg Maddux in 1992 and since the Baseball Writers’ Association of America launched the award in 1956, they have had only four winners. Jake Arrieta could be number 5.

Look at the unbelievable season he’s had. He went 22-6 with a B_s2oF_UwAEPuGG1.77 ERA, 120th all-time and 16th in the live ball era. It’s the lowest live-ball ERA not to lead the league and his .075 post All-Star break ERA was the lowest in Major League history.

jake-arrieta-mlb-chicago-cubs-detroit-tigers1-850x560Arrieta is up against Zack Greinke and Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers in the three man race for this year’s Cy Young award. Ironicly, the Cubs’ ace pitched a no-hitter against the Dodgers August 30th and was named the NL pitcher of the Month in August and September.

Jake Arrieta was traded to the Chicago Cubs in 2013 from the Baltimore Orioles for RHP Scott Feldman. He was the first pitcher this season to reach 19 wins and had the most wins in the whole league. In 2014, Arrieta tied for ninth place in the NL Cy Young voting and now he’s a finalist. The winner will be announced Wednesday November 18th. Best of luck, Jake!


Leave a Reply


If you like this site or just simply want to school your friends because you got the information first.  

Join us on the field! Click on any of the links below.

%d bloggers like this: