Cleat Geeks

Home Run Derby Rules and Participants

Great-American-Ballpark-From-Center-With-Steamboat-SmokestacksThis years Home Run Derby, which will be televised live by ESPN and, will follow an exciting new format featuring brackets, timed rounds and bonuses based on HR distances, with players seeded from the start according to their season home run total prior to July 7. They are seeded and matched up in the following order:

The first round is highlighted by Pujols (the No. 1 seed) taking on Bryant (8) in a battle of the legend vs. the kid, and Frazier (2), the hometown hero, trying to fend off Fielder (7), the savvy two-time champ. Donaldson (3) vs. Rizzo (6) and Pederson (4) vs. Machado (5) round out the opening round, with a possible showdown of two Chicago Cubs looming if both Bryant and Rizzo can advance to the finals.

The top four players in the field are among the Major Leagues’ 10 leading home run hitters this year. Pujols, who ranks eighth all-time with a total of 50 Derby home runs, joins Frazier, Donaldson and Fielder — one of just three players (Ken Griffey Jr. and Yoenis Cespedes are the others) to win multiple Derbys — as returning participants.


MLB’s groundbreaking Statcast technology will provide the official measurement of all Derby homers, and this year’s field features players who’ve hit some of the season’s longest blasts. Donaldson crushed the season’s second-longest homer of the year back on April 23 against Chris Tillman, which was projected by Statcast™ to travel 481 feet. Bryant’s 477 foot blast on May 26 off Aaron Barrett comes in at seventh longest, while Pederson’s 477 foot rocket on June 2 off Jorge De La Rosa ranks eighth.

Beginning in the first and continuing through the third and final round, the loser of each head-to-head match-up will be eliminated, while the winner advances to the next round. Each batter will have five minutes to hit as many home runs as possible, with a timer starting with the release of the first pitch. Any home run hit within one minute remaining will stop the timer immediately when the ball lands in home run territory. The timer will then not start again until the batter hits a ball that does not land in home run territory or swings and misses at a pitch.MLBstatcast

Additionally, batters can be awarded bonus time based on home run length: If a batter hits two homers during a turn that equal or exceed 420 feet, one minute of bonus time will be added. For every home run of at least 475 feet, 30 seconds will be added. Players can earn a total of one minute and 30 seconds of bonus time.

Ties in any round will be broken by a 90-second swing-off, with no stoppage of time or additional time added. If the batters remain tied, they will engage in successive three-swing swing-offs until there is a winner. At any time the second batter eclipses the first batter’s total, that round’s matchup will end and the second batter will advance.

Each batter also gets one “time out” per round.

Some of the material in this story was taken from an article written by Joey Nowak

Leave a Reply


If you like this site or just simply want to school your friends because you got the information first.  

Join us on the field! Click on any of the links below.

%d bloggers like this: