Cleat Geeks

NHL Awards 2015

It’s getting close to that time of year where NHL Awards are being distributed again. Obviously the biggest one coming up being the Stanley Cup. This has been given out since 1893 and is currently held by the Los Angeles Kings for 2013-2014, and is about to be passed to either the Tampa Bay Lightning or the Chicago Blackhawks at the end of the final series. Another important trophy given is the Prince of Wales Trophy which was already awarded to the Bolts this season, This trophy goes out to the Eastern Conference playoff champions. The equivalent of this trophy, given to the Western Conference, is the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl which was given to the Chicago Blackhawks this year.


Another well-known trophy in the NHL is the Presidents’ Trophy, this is awarded to the team who finishes with the best overall record based on points. This year. the New York Rangers won the award. Along with team awards, individual awards are also given out.


Since 1927, the Vezina Trophy has been awarded to the best goaltender in the league and is currently held by the Boston Bruins’ Tuukka Rask. The Calder Memorial Trophy is given to the league’s most outstanding rookie player. Currently, Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche. The Hart Memorial Trophy was given last to Sidney Crosby for being the league’s most valuable player.

All of these trophies are renamed every year, and are a hockey player’s dream. This year’s NHL Awards are being named soon if they haven’t already stay tuned for more updates.

Leave a Reply


If you like this site or just simply want to school your friends because you got the information first.  

Join us on the field! Click on any of the links below.

%d bloggers like this: