Cleat Geeks

PFA Player of the Year nominations 2014/15


Tottenham striker Harry Kane and Chelsea playmaker Eden Hazard are the two front runners to be named PFA Player of the Year.

Hazard’s team mate Diego Costa, Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez, Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea and Liverpool’s Phillippe Coutinho are also on the shortlist for the award.

Kane could become the first English player to win the award since Wayne Rooney in the 2009/10 season. The 21 year-old has scored 19 Premier League goals for Spurs this season, making him the league’s joint top goal scorer with fellow nominee Diego Costa. kane

Hazard has been in fine form for table-topping Chelsea this season, with his creativity providing Costa with many of his goals this campaign. The Belgian winger leads the way in chances created (87), dribbles (148) and final third passes (785) in the Premier League this season.

Manchester United ‘keeper De Gea has been spectacular between the sticks this season and is rightly up for the award. His saves to shot ratio is currently 73%, and his catch success rate is a perfect 100%. The Spaniard will be hoping to be the first goalkeeper crowned Player of the Year since Peter Shilton, 37 years ago.

coutinhoChelsea captain John Terry revealed earlier this month that he voted for Coutinho to scoop the award. The Brazilian has created 42 chances for Liverpool this season, with 27 of those have come since the turn of the year. The 22 year-old has been one of the best players in 2015 and deserves his nomination.

Finally Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez has been superb all season for The Gunners. The Chilean attacking midfielder has an impressive 14 Premier League goals in his first season at The Emirates, adding a further 8 assists – which is more goals and the same number of assists as Hazard. sanchez

Kane, De Gea, Hazard and Coutinho are all also nominated for the Young Player of the Year award, along with Liverpool’s Raheem Sterling and Chelsea goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois.

Hazard is currently the favorite with bookmakers to pick up both gongs on April 26th.

Soccer fans simply comment below on who you think should get the award. There are no costs or strings attached to registering and commenting.

Leave a Reply


If you like this site or just simply want to school your friends because you got the information first.  

Join us on the field! Click on any of the links below.

%d bloggers like this: