Cleat Geeks


Cristiano Ronaldo won the FIFA Ballon D’Or award for the second year running, beating Lionel Messi and Manuel Neuer to the trophy.

The Real Madrid forward becomes the seventh player in history to win the award in successive years, following in the footsteps of Johan Cruyff, Michel Platini, Marco Van Basten, Kevin Keegan, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge and Barcelona forward Messi.

The former Sporting Lisbon and Manchester United player received 37.66% of all votes, with Messi receiving 15.76% and Bayern Munich goalkeeper Neuer getting 15.72%. Ronaldo said; “I would like to thank all those who voted for me, my president, my coach and Real Madrid. It has been an unforgettable year; to win this trophy at the end of it is something unique.”

It’s the third time Ronaldo has lifted the award, having won it in 2008 before his 2013 and 2014 wins. Portuguese international Ronaldo scored 52 goals in 43 games in 2014, adding 17 assists.

Ronaldo’s Real Madrid teammate James Rodriguez won goal of the year for this stunning strike against Uruguay during the World Cup:

Germany’s World Cup winning coach Joachim Low picked up the men’s coach of the year award, while Nadine Kessler won the women’s player of the year award and Ralf Kellermann picked up the women’s coach of the year gong.

Leave a Reply


If you like this site or just simply want to school your friends because you got the information first.  

Join us on the field! Click on any of the links below.

%d bloggers like this: