Cleat Geeks

6 teams, 5 stadiums and every MLB team represented in 2014 AFL

The 2014 Arizona Fall League season will, as always, feature some of the best up and coming minor league superstars and will feature two divisions of three teams each for 32 games with 4 special events sprinkled into the season for your baseball entertainment.

srf image 1

Salt River Fields 1 of 5 stadiums to host the 2014 AFL.

The East Division will feature the Mesa Solar Sox who will play their home games at the newest spring training site, Cubs Park (pictured above).  Featuring the stars of the Chicago Cubs, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, Oakland Athletics, Toronto Blue Jays and Washington Nationals. The Salt River Rafters will also be in the East Division and play home games at Salt River Fields at Talking Stick and will be represented by players from the Arizona Diamondbacks, Colorado Rockies, Houston Astros, Miami Marlins, and Minnesota Twins. Lastly, the Scottsdale Scorpions will be the third team in the East Division and will be made up of players from the New York Mets, Philadelphia Phillies, New York Yankees, Pittsburg Pirates and San Francisco Giants and play their home games at Scottsdale Stadium.

The West Division will also feature three teams with the first being the Glendale Desert Dogs. The Desert Dogs will feature players from the Chicago White Sox, Baltimore Orioles, Los Angeles Dodgers, Milwaukee Brewers and Detroit Tigers  and play their home games at Camelback Ranch Glendale. Surprise Stadium will house the last two teams in the West Division. The Peoria Javelinas will have players from the Atlanta Braves, Kansas City Royals, Cleveland Indians, St. Louis Cardinals, and Tampa Bay Rays. The second team, the Surprise Saguaros will be constructed from players from the following teams Boston Red Sox, Texas Rangers, San Diego Padres, Seattle Mariners, and Cincinnati Reds.

The six team Arizona Fall league was founded in 1992 and is operated by Major league Baseball. Most of the players who participate in the Arizona Fall League are from a particular clubs Double-A or Triple-A affiliates. These are the players who the clubs either consider to be on the cusp of the major leagues or they were hurt during a significant part of their minor league season. Each team can opt to send a maximum of 2 players below the Double-A level. As you have read from the above list each AFL team consists of 5 teams, each team provides 7 players, giving the AFL team a total of a 35 man roster.

Leave a Reply


If you like this site or just simply want to school your friends because you got the information first.  

Join us on the field! Click on any of the links below.

%d bloggers like this: